2017 Steeplechase Races in Saratoga

Steeplechase is an exciting type of thoroughbred horse racing where the competitors have to clear obstacles as they make their way around the track. Saratoga Race Course hosts steeplechase races every Wednesday and Thursday during the summer meet, as you can tell from the schedule below.

July 2017

  • Wednesday, July 26
  • Thursday, July 27: Grade 1: A.P. Smithwick Memorial

August 2017

  • Wednesday, August 2
  • Thursday, August 3
  • Wednesday, August 9
  • Thursday, August 10
  • Wednesday, August 16
  • Thursday, August 17
  • Wednesday, August 23
  • Thursday, August 24: Grade 1: New York Turf Writers Cup
  • Wednesday, August 30
  • Thursday, August 31

Please note: some dates may be subject to change, depending on weather and course conditions. To learn more about steeplechase races at Saratoga Race Course and for other helpful information, refer to the Frequently Asked Questions section of the site or contact the New York Racing Association.

Connect With Us